SANS 10400-XA The application of the National Building Regulations Part X: Environmental sustainability Part XA: Energy usage in buildings; and SANS 204 Energy Efficiency in   Buildings, features a map of South Africa based on six climatic zones.
Design for comfort and energy efficiency is influenced by climatic considerations. To achieve the best results, building design and construction materials should be appropriate to the climate of a region. Energy intervention measures will vary from region to region.

While each of the six climate zones have different heating and cooling needs, the same   principles of energy efficient design apply, with their application varying slightly, e.g. different levels of insulation or thermal mass or variations in window sizes.

Click on your region to see the Recommended Levels of Insulation in your area.

Zone Description Major centre
1 Cold interior Johannesburg, Bloemfontein
2 Temperate interior Pretoria, Polokwane
3 Hot interior Makhado, Nelspruit
4 Temperate coastal Cape Town, Port Elizabeth
5 Sub-tropical coastal East London, Durban, Richards Bay
6 Arid interior Upington, Kimberley